Google Chat’s latest visual update hides an important tab

Summary

  • Google Chat has added Starred messages to its mobile apps, allowing users to prioritize important messages.
  • The redesign includes moving the Mentions tab into a three-dot menu within the navigation bar, which may cause some confusion initially.
  • The changes will be available to all Google Chat app users on iOS and Android, but it could take a couple of weeks to become widely available.


Google Chat has undergone a couple of design changes since late last year, starting with the introduction of a bottom navigation bar on its mobile apps. This was followed up by a logo redesign in line with a few other Google Workspace apps. Google Chat is now picking up another visual upgrade with the addition of Starred messages on iOS and Android.

The web version of Google Chat added support for Starred messages back in November, as noted by the Workspace blog. This feature is now ready to make it to the mobile apps, involving a rearrangement of the bottom navigation bar. To accommodate this, Mentions has been moved inside a three-dot menu within the pill-shaped container, joining the new Starred option, as shown below. In its previous form, Mentions was the fourth option in the navigation bar after Home, Direct Messages, and Spaces.

Google Chat Starred Mobile

Google says this change “helps you stay on top of your most important messages,” but it can be quite confusing at first glance, especially with the Mentions option disappearing. As 9to5Google notes, the existing arrangement of the pill-shaped container is still present within the Gmail app’s Chat experience, pictured below.

Google Chat Mentions Gmail-1

The navigation bar of the Google Chat app inside Gmail

When the feature is available, users will be able to star messages by long-pressing the chat and tapping the star. You can unstar a message by going to the

Read More ...

Google warns millions of users to check important iPhone and Android app setting now

DID you realise that your photos capture the location of where they were taken?

Whether it’s on iPhone or Android, it happens on all smartphones.

Look out for this prompt in the Google Photos app

1

Look out for this prompt in the Google Photos app

It’s a useful way to know when a special memory took place.

The feature is pretty safe.

But not everyone is comfortable with the idea of locations being logged.

Particularly for photos taken at home or work.

If you use Google Photos to store your images, the tech giant is now alerting you about something related, called estimated photo locations.

This uses things like visible landmarks to work out where the photo was taken.

As the alert explains, photo locations come from multiple locations, including locations estimated by Google Photos.

Google stopped using Location History to estimate photo locations but they are continuing to guess using other sources instead when ‘estimate missing locations’ is switched on.

When you open the Google Photos app, you’ll be asked whether you want to keep any existing estimated locations, or whether you want to remove them.

If you do decide to delete them, you’ll be warned before: “Deleting estimated photo locations based on Location History may result in permanent loss of those estimated locations.

“Your photos will be kept.”

It’s up to you to decide what you’re comfortable with.

Either way, get thinking before May comes.

If you don’t choose to keep your estimated locations before May 1st, 2023, Google will automatically remove the estimations.

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for

Read More ...